Skip to content
Search to learn about InterSystems products and solutions, career opportunities, and more.
lab techs looking at health data on a tablet

Global Healthcare Data Standards & Interoperability

From ASTM to X12, We Speak Interoperability

Support for Global and National Standards and Certifications

Organisations worldwide use InterSystems to support their data standards in healthcare for interoperability and improved workflow across the care continuum.

Promoting Interoperability

InterSystems Contact Information:
InterSystems HealthShare:
Corporate Headquarters: 1 Memorial Drive, Cambridge, MA 02142
UK Office: InterSystems House, 70 Tangier Lane, Eton, Berkshire, SL4 6BB

Additional Software Used for Certification: Secure Exchange Solutions SES Direct (HISP); required for Personal Community only.

IHE Certification

InterSystems is committed to the IHE’s (Integrating the Healthcare Enterprise) objectives which are focused on improving the ways in which computer systems in healthcare share information.

View our IHE Integration Statements

HealthShare is certified for Health IT interoperability by IHE USA and ICSA Labs, following rigorous and thorough testing under the IHE IT Infrastructure Domain, which specifies capabilities related to:

  • Interoperability
  • Clinical-document sharing
  • Patient identification
  • Audit logging
  • Security

View Certificate of Compliance

Our Products Support a Wide Variety of International Healthcare Data Standards

HL7 V2
Health Level Seven* (HL7) was developed as a standard language for the sharing and integration of electronic health information. Healthcare organisations worldwide use InterSystems’ technology to seamlessly integrate information inside and outside the hospital while streamlining clinical and administrative business processes. InterSystems is a member and benefactor of the HL7 standards organisation.
HL7 FHIR®* (Fast Healthcare Interoperability Resources). InterSystems products provide all the technology needed to easily handle FHIR® requests, including FHIR® client and server components, a FHIR® message model, and translation between FHIR® and other health information exchange standards, such as HL7 v2 and C-CDA.
CDA (Clinical Document Architecture) is an XML-based document markup standard that specifies the structure and semantics of clinical documents for the purpose of exchange of information. CDA is a standard published by the HL7 standards development organisation. CCD (Continuity of Care Document) is a CDA implementation guide for a summary of care for care transition for a patient.
Consolidated CDA (C-CDA) 2.0 is an implementation guide contains a library of CDA templates for 12 clinical documents including the CCD template. C-CDA incorporates and harmonises previous efforts from HL7, IHE, and the Health Information Technology Standards Panel (HITSP).
In healthcare, ASTM (American Society for Testing and Materials) is a set of standards used in the transfer of information between clinical instruments and computer systems.
The Digital Imaging and Communications in Medicine (DICOM) standard is used to ensure the interoperability of systems that produce, store, display, process, send, retrieve, query or print medical images, and to manage related data and workflow.
Direct Secure Messaging
The Direct Project was created to specify a simple, secure, scalable, standards-based way for participants to send authenticated, encrypted health information directly to known, trusted recipients over the Internet. Direct messages are exchanged through an accredited Health Information Service Provider (HISP) based on the standards represented by the Nationwide Health Information Network.
The Electronic Data Interchange For Administration, Commerce, and Transport standard (EDIFACT) is also known as the International Standards Organisation (ISO) Standard 9735-6. In healthcare, EDIFACT is used primarily for exchange of administrative data.
The Interoperability Toolkit (ITK), developed by the United Kingdom’s National Health Service (NHS), is a set of common specifications, frameworks and implementation guides to support interoperability within local organisations and across local health and social care communities. InterSystems was the first company to receive official accreditation for its ITK implementation and continues to support new specifications as they are developed.
The National Council on Prescription Drug Products (NCPDP) is an organisation providing the SCRIPT standard for e-prescribing. This includes information exchanges related to medications, supplies, and services within the healthcare system.
SS-MIX (Standard Structured Medical Information eXchange) is a standard for health information exchange published by the Japanese Ministry of Health, Labor and Welfare. SS-MIX is based in part on HL7.
X12 is a standard for business-to-business electronic data interchange (EDI). It covers business transactions such as order placement and processing, shipping and receiving information, invoicing, payment and cash application data, and data to and from entities involved in finance, insurance, and is used for submission and adjudication of health insurance claims.

Certified Access & Interoperability on National Health Networks

eHealth Exchange
HealthShare is an eHealth Exchange Validated product. It supports a common set of healthcare standards and specifications that enable a secure, trusted, and interoperable connection among all participating eHealth Exchange organisations, including federal agencies such as CMS, regional and state health information organisations, IDNs, academic medical centers, dialysis centers, and pharmacies.
CommonWell Health Alliance is a not-for-profit trade association devoted to making health data available regardless of where care occurs. InterSystems is a CommonWell Connected™ Member and HealthShare Managed Connections as a CommonWell Connector™, provides healthcare providers a single connection to the CommonWell network.

Carequality is a public-private, multi-stakeholder collaborative that has come together to meet this challenge. Our community, drawn from all parts of the healthcare ecosystem, uses a consensus-based process to enable seamless connectivity across all participating networks.
DMP (Dossier Médical Personnel) is the Internet-accessible French national electronic health record aimed at improving health information sharing and care coordination. Electronic medical records and other clinical systems communicate and share data with DMP via published specifications based on the French health information systems interoperability framework (CI-SIS), which is itself based on IHE profiles.

*“HL7,” “Health Level Seven,” are registered trademarks, and the HL7 design is a trademark of Health Level Seven International. Registered trademarks used with the permission of HL7.